English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Governing Agencies & Policies

Governing Agencies

Charlotte Regional Transportation Planning Organization (CRTPO)
Under federal law, any urbanized area (as defined by the Census Bureau) exceeding a population of 50,000 shall have a Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) whose purpose is to coordinate transportation planning among its member governments.  CRTPO comprises the entirety of Iredell, Mecklenburg and the western portion of Union County.  Representatives of the MPO include members of the governing boards of Iredell, Mecklenburg and Union counties, the cities of Charlotte, Monroe and Statesville, and the towns of Cornelius, Davidson, Fairview, Hemby Bridge, Huntersville, Indian Trail, Marshville, Marvin, Matthews, Mineral Springs, Mint Hill, Mooresville, Pineville, Stallings, Troutman, Unionville, Waxhaw, Weddington, Wesley Chapel and Wingate; the local NC Board of Transportation Division 10 and Division 12 representatives are also voting members; the Metropolitan Transit Commission is also represented as a voting member.  Non-voting representatives from the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Planning Commission, Iredell County Planning Board, Union County Planning Board, US DOT and the North Carolina Turnpike Authority participate in CRTPO deliberations (please refer to the MPO Members page to view a complete list of current MPO membership).  The voting structure is based on population: Charlotte has 31 votes; Cornelius, Huntersville, Indian Trail, Iredell County, Matthews, Mecklenburg County, Mint Hill, Monroe, Mooresville, Statesville and Union County have two votes each; each of the other voting members has one vote.

The MPO is charged with the responsibility of preparing and adopting the Metropolitan Transportation Plan, the Transportation Improvement Program and the Unified Planning Work Program.  The MPO typically meets the third Wednesday every month at 6:00 PM in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center. Special meetings are scheduled if necessary (please refer to the Meetings page to see the MPO calendar, as well as links to the agenda and minutes).  A period for public comment is available at each meeting.

CRTPO Technical Coordinating Committee (TCC)
The TCC is the staff arm to the MPO.  It is composed of representatives of various departments and communities involved in the transportation planning process.  Other relevant local, state and federal departments are also members (please refer to the TCC Members page to view a complete list of current TCC membership).  The TCC's primary responsibility is to carry out the various planning tasks described in the Unified Planning Work Program.  These include updates to the Metropolitan Transportation Plan, analysis of operational issues in the thoroughfare system, recommendations for various transportation investment programs and the public involvement process for the MPO.  Virtually all technical recommendations to the MPO originate at the TCC level.  The TCC meets the first Thursday of each month at 10:00 AM in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center (please refer to the Meetings page to see the TCC calendar, as well as links to the agenda and minutes).

Lead Planning Agency
CRTPO’s lead planning agency (LPA) is the Charlotte Planning Design & Development Department. 


Governing Policies

Memorandum of Understanding (MOU)  
The Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) outlines the policies, structure, membership and the roles and responsibilities of CRTPO.  It is the governing document of the TPO, which guides the cooperative, comprehensive and continuing transportation planning process among the parties therein.  The current MOU for CRTPO was endorsed by the MPO in July 2013 and its effective date is October 10, 2013.  Click the following link to view CRTPO’s MOU.

MPO and TCC Bylaws
The Bylaws describe the purpose and operational procedures of the MPO and TCC, including the terms and duties of officers, meeting procedures, voting procedures and attendance. CRTPO’s Bylaws were first adopted in September 2003. Click on the links below to view the bylaws.