Skip to content

Beyond 77 Task Force

Home » Boards & Committees » Work Groups & Committees » Beyond 77 Task Force

Introduction and Mission

In 2016, a focus group composed of representatives of the Charlotte Regional Transportation Planning Organization (CRTPO) Board and Technical Coordinating Committee (TCC) was established to develop a scope of work, goals, and targets for a comprehensive and multimodal corridor study along Interstate 77.  Their task was completed in 2017 and a Request for Proposals (RFP) was issued in early 2018.  The consultant procurement and contracting process was completed in the summer of 2019, and the Beyond 77 Corridor Study began in September of the same year.

The Beyond 77 study phase was conducted in a largely virtual format due to the pandemic throughout 2020 and 2021.  The study concluded in the fall of 2021 and was adopted by the CRTPO Board in January 2022.  As part of CRTPO’s responsibility to our member jurisdictions, stakeholders, and the public, staff is organizing a Beyond 77 task force to guide the implementation phase of this initiative. CRTPO staff wishes to continue the momentum and success of the study and with your input and collaboration to help us advance the next phase of Beyond 77 – the Beyond 77 Implementation.

Scope of Work

  1. Input and approval for the marketing plan
  2. Advocate and help with the coordination process with the other major initiatives and their outcomes within the study area and/or the CRTPO planning area
  3. Evaluate, prioritize, and set the course of action for the shortlist of recommendations
  4. Discussion and execution of a regional/county plan on funding alternative solution(s)


NameAgency/OrganizationFocus Areas
Alex RotenburryNCDOT – IMDTransit and active transportation
Andrew VentrescaTown of TroutmanPlanner/TCC vice chair
Andy GrzymskiCharlotte DOTPlanner/roadway
Bill ThunbergLake Norman Transportation CommissionLake Norman area
Clint GrantMecklenburg CountyPublic Health / BikePed
Commissioner Lisa QuallsTown of Mooresville CommissionElected official/CRTPO Board vice chair
Commissioner Rob KidwellCity of Huntersville CommissionElected official
Council Braxton WinstonCity of Charlotte CouncilElected official
Dr. Mike MiltichFormer CRTPO Board ChairInfluencer, former CRTPO Chair
Dr. Sylvia Bittle-PattonCherry Community OrganizationHousing and Land-use
Johanna QuinnCharlotte DOTPlanner/active transportation
Michael JohnsonFormer CRTPO Board ChairInfluencer, former CRTPO Chair
Michelle NanceCentralina Regional CouncilPlanner/Region
Mshauri A.J. SimmonsAll Means, The Males Place, UNCCYouth, SBE
Randi GatesGaston-Cleveland-Lincoln MPOPlanner/CRAFT, region
Rickey HallWest Blvd Neighborhood CoalitionEquity, Neighborhood coalition
Scott Miller NCDOT – DivisionsDivisions 10 and 12
Tim GibbsFormer Charlotte DOT Transportation PlannerInfluencer, former Charlotte DOT Planner
Warren CookseyNCDOT – NC Turnpike AuthorityDirector of Outreach and Community Affairs
Task Force Members

Agendas and Meeting Minutes

Beyond 77 Task Force Kickoff Meeting – May 23 – Agenda | Minutes