Skip to content

Bicycle & Pedestrian Work Group

Home » Boards & Committees » Work Groups & Committees » Bicycle & Pedestrian Work Group

The Work Group

A Bicycle Traffic Signal.


The Charlotte Regional Transportation Planning Organization (CRTPO) Bicycle & Pedestrian Work Group is tasked with an advisory role in the MPO planning process. The Work Group draws on the technical expertise of practitioners and advocates in the bicycle and pedestrian planning arena. This expertise is essential in recommending the efficient allocation of funding for studies, projects, and planning efforts. The Bicycle & Pedestrian Work Group makes recommendations directly to the MPO’s Technical Coordinating Committee, and advises the committee on specific matters when so directed.


  1. Advocate for safer bicyclist and pedestrian means of transportation;
  2. Support advocacy and education efforts throughout the MPO planning area;
  3. Work collaboratively with regional bicyclist and pedestrian planning initiatives and agencies;
  4. Ensure that bicyclist and pedestrian transportation issues are fully integrated into the MPO’s planning process, planning documents, and policy efforts; and
  5. Seek resources, as determined by the MPO, which provide for bicyclist and pedestrian transportation choices.


The Bicycle & Pedestrian Work Group is comprised of TCC members, NCDOT Division representatives, and local staff from across the planning area.

Centralina Regional CouncilVacant
Charlotte Area Transit SystemKeith Sorensen
Charlotte DOT Bicycle ProgramDave Campbell
CRTPO StaffCurtis Bridges
Iredell CountyErika Martin (Town of Mooresville)
Mecklenburg County GreenwaysGwen Cook
Mecklenburg County Health DepartmentIrene Ivie
NCDOT Division 10 Theo Ghitea
NCDOT Division 12 Anil Panicker
North Mecklenburg CountyAaron Tucker (Town of Cornelius)
North Mecklenburg CountyTracy Houk (Town of Huntersville, Park & Recreation)
Iredell CountyAndrew Ventresca (Town of Troutman)
South Mecklenburg CountySusan Habina-Woolard (Town of Matthews)
Union County Bjorn Hansen (Union County)
Union CountyBlair Israel (Town of Waxhaw)
Bicycle & Pedestrian Work Group Membership Table

BPWG Meetings:

Meeting Agendas


NCDOT’s Integrated Mobility Division (IMD) holds quarterly multimodal webinars. Presentations and recordings are available here: