Skip to content

Transit Safety


Transit Safety

Transit Safety is a key component of the federal performance-based planning process. FTA published the Public Transportation Agency Safety Plan (PTASP) Final Rule on July 19, 2018 (effective date of July 19, 2019) to improve public transportation safety by guiding transit agencies to more effectively and proactively manage safety risks in their systems.

Performance Measures & Targets

The PTASP performance measures in the table below were established as part of the PTASP Final Rule. All operators of public transportation systems that are recipients and sub-recipients of federal financial assistance under the Urbanized Area Formula Program and all rail transit operator recipients must develop safety performance targets based on the safety performance measures established in FTA’s National Public Transportation Safety Plan (National Safety Plan). Targets must be reviewed and updated annually as part of a safety plan (see the Plans section below).

Initial PTASP targets are due to FTA by July 20, 2020. MPOs have 180 days after providers set and share their initial targets to establish their own targets.

CATS has developed its safety performance targets and NCDOT has developed safety performance targets on behalf of ICATS and Union County Transit.

CRTPO Transit Safety Performance Targets

Mode of Transit ServiceFatalities (Total)Fatalities
(Per 100,000 VRM)
Serious Injuries (Total)Serious Injuries
(Per 100,000  VRM)
Safety Events (Total)Safety Events
(Per 100,000 VRM)
System Reliability
Demand Response00.00N/A0.80N/A0.5060,000
Demand Response00.0020.37181.8530,750
Demand Response00.0060.2020.07100,000
Demand Response00.0020.30255.0050,000
Transit Safety Performance Targets Table

CATS targets are for CY21 (Jan 21 – Dec 21)
ICATS targets are for FY21 (Jul 20 – June 21)
MTS targets are for FY21 (Jul 20 – June 21)
UCT targets are for FY22 (Jul 21 – Jun 22)


All recipients and sub-recipients of FTA grant funds are required to develop and certify that they have a safety plan meeting the requirements of the PTASP rule by July 20, 2020. Tier I providers must draft and implement their own safety plans. Tier II providers may have the state draft the safety plan on their behalf or may opt to draft their own safety plan.

Regardless of who drafts and certifies a safety plan, each transit operator is required to carry out and implement its own safety plan.

Safety plans must be signed by an operator’s Accountable Executive and approved by its Board of Directors (or equivalent authority). State Safety Oversight Agencies must approve the safety plans of the rail transit agencies they oversee.

CATS has developed and submitted its initial safety plan to NCDOT and NCDOT is currently developing an initial safety plan on behalf of ICATS and Union County Transit.


Transit operators (or states on behalf of Tier II public transportation providers) are required to review, update, and self-certify their safety plans annually via FTA’s Certifications and Assurances process (which include safety performance targets). 

CRTPO reported its PTASP targets to CATS and NCDOT in the form of a resolution

Accountability & Transparency

In progress

Additional Resources